Dismissals with Proof

Fail to Maintain Financial Responsibility (No Insurance)


You may request that the ticket be dismissed if you can submit valid proof of insurance before your court date. Only sufficient proof that the insurance was valid at the date and time of the issuance of the ticket can be filed with the court for dismissal. The insurance will be verified with your insurance agent, if the insurance can not be verified your case will be set for a Show Cause Hearing before the judge.

Note: If you were driving a vehicle that does not belong to you, you must provide proof from the owner along with a statement from the owner that you had permission to drive the vehicle.

Please contact the court clerk at 817-430-4052 for more information.

Second Conviction


A second or subsequent conviction of an offense under the Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act will result in the suspension of your driver's license and motor vehicle registration unless you file and maintain proof of financial responsibility with the Department of Public Safety for two years from the date of conviction. The Department may waive the requirement to file proof of financial responsibility if you file satisfactory evidence with the department showing at the time this citation was issued, the vehicle was covered by a liability insurance policy or that you were otherwise exempt from the requirements to provide evidence of financial responsibility.

Expired Driver's License


You may request that the violation be dismissed if you can show the temporary drivers license issued by the Department of Public Safety indicating the renewal of the license and the date renewed. You must provide the court with this proof within 20 days of the date of your citation, or on or before your first court appearance, whichever is later. You must pay a $20 dismissal fee at the time of request for dismissal.

Change of Address or Name on Driver's License


You may request the violation be dismissed by providing the court with the proof of correction from the Department of Public Safety on or before your first court date or within 20 days, whichever is later. You must pay a dismissal fee of $20.

Driver's License Endorsements


You may request dismissal of the violation if the Department of Public Safety removes the restriction or endorsement by the first court appearance date and you must pay dismissal fee of $10.

Expired License Plate (Registration)


You may request dismissal of the violation, if the vehicle registration has not been expired for more than 60 days. You must provide the court with the form generated by the County Tax Assessor's office, stamped by the County Tax Assessor's office with the amount paid and date paid or the new registration receipt from generated by the County Tax Assessor's office. You must pay a $20 dismissal fee at the time of request.

Expired Inspection Certificate


You may request dismissal of the violation, if the vehicle inspection certificate has not been expired for more than 60 days. You must provide the court with the standard Texas Vehicle Inspection Report showing the vehicle "passed" inspection within 20 working days of the date of the violation. You must pay a $20 dismissal fee at the time of the request.

Equipment Violations


This does not apply to commercial motor vehicles. You may request dismissal of this violation. You must provide the court with proof the defective equipment was repaired or replaced before your first court date. You must pay a $10 dismissal fee at the time of request.

Obscured License Plate and No License Plate (Front or Rear)


You may request dismissal of these violations if you provide the court with proof the correction(s) have been made before the first court appearance date. You must pay a $10 dismissal fee at the time of the request.